x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
Rules Guy: An OB stake is hindering my swing. Can I move it without penalty?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • GOLF Originals
      • Seen & Heard
      • Breakthrough
      • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Shaving Strokes
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Proving Ground
      • Firsthand With A Fitter
      • Winner’s Bag
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Proving Ground
    • Firsthand With A Fitter
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • GOLF Originals
    • Seen & Heard
    • Breakthrough
    • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Shaving Strokes
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • Golf Staff Picks
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
InsideGolf

InsideGOLF Holiday Bonus

FREE GOLF HAT
Rules

Rules Guy: An OB stake is hindering my swing. Can I move it without penalty?

By: Rules Guy
October 8, 2024
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Man beside hedge preparing to hit golf ball, head obscured

Can you legally move a boundary stake if it's in your way?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Recently I found myself at a local golf course where my ball landed in bounds but the out-of-bounds post would hinder my swing. As I have done with a red hazard post, I pulled it out of the ground, hit my ball and replaced it back where it was. My playing partner said I incurred a two-stroke penalty as the post was not in bounds and for that reason could not be moved. —Bob Wackerman, San Mateo, Calif.

Bob, your playing partner got the ruling correct even if his explanation wasn’t precisely on point.

Since it is a boundary object, an out-of-bounds stake isn’t treated the same way as a penalty-area stake. Boundary objects are considered fixed and, under Rule 8.1a(1), may not be moved if doing so improves one of your conditions affecting the stroke, such as your area of intended swing.

When you removed the stake, you had the chance to avoid penalty by replacing it prior to making the stroke (see Rule 8.1c), but once you made the stroke with your area of intended swing improved by the stake’s absence, you got the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play for a breach of Rule 8.1a.

Rules
Yellow stake penalty area
Rules Guy: My ball crossed a yellow-staked penalty area and fell back in. Now what?
By: Rules Guy

Now that this answer has been, er, posted, we hope others won’t make the same stake miss, uh, mistake.

For more stake-related guidance from our guru, read on …

If a retention pond isn’t staked, is it still considered to be a water hazard? —Paul Neubert, Surfside Beach, S.C.

The Zen philosopher Ty Webb once said, “A flute with no holes is not a flute. A donut with no hole is a Danish.”

Similarly (or perhaps dissimilarly — it’s hard to say), Decision 26/3 clarifies that if a water hazard is unmarked by the committee it does not lose its status as a water hazard. Hit into it, and you can still take relief under the water hazard rule … or, better yet, don’t hit into it.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Latest In Instruction

8 hours ago

A clever way to learn about your swing without a launch monitor

1 day ago

Save $50 on this Scottie Scheffler-approved fitness trainer

2 days ago

Peter Kostis has 'controversial' opinion on where power *really* comes from

3 days ago

10 things I learned spending 2 days with golf's top instructors

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Rules
golfer removing golf ball from hole

Rules Guy: Is it legal to tap down grass around the hole before putting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball resting against pin and about to drop into hole

Rules Guy: How much of the ball needs to be in the cup to be considered holed?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Can you play a ball that goes OB, but is in-bounds on another hole?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer places ball on tee preparing for a driver shot.

Rules Guy: When playing winter rules, can you tee up your ball on loose impediments?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
LPGA golfer Jennifer Kupcho tosses her ball to her caddie on the 2nd green on June 17, 2022 during the Meijer LPGA Classic For Simply Give at the Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Rules Guy: After marking a ball, can you have your caddie replace it?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
US golfer Tony Finau marks his ball's location during his fourball match on the second day of the 42nd Ryder Cup at Le Golf National Course at Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, south-west of Paris, on September 29, 2018.

Rules Guy: Are you allowed to touch your ball after picking up your mark?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland after his ball is wedged against a rake on the 16th hole during day one of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open Golf Championship at Mount Juliet Golf Club in Thomastown, Kilkenny.

Rules Guy: My ball is lodged against a bunker rake. What now?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Cameron Young of the United States plays a shot left handed from under a tree on the 6th during the final round of the Hero Dubai Desert Classic at Emirates Golf Club on January 21, 2024 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Rules Guy: If you're a right-handed, is it legal to carry a left-handed club?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2024 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved.